Certified MedicoLegal Evaluator (CMLE®)

IAIME is the leading international, professional membership organization involved in independent medicolegal evaluations using evidenced-based medicine, clinical best practices and practice guidelines.

IAIME offers Certified MedicoLegal Evaluator, (CMLE®) certification to all licensed professionals involved in the management, treatment, and evaluation of injured workers. The 100-question exam covers biostatistics and research, work ability and return to work principles, causation analysis principles, report writing, opioids and pharmacology, impairment ratings, psychology, and behavioral health. A core-curriculum study guide is available from IAIME. IAIME’s Mid-Year meeting and MedicoLegal Institute provide foundational learnings in these areas as are the AMA Guides 4th, 5th, 6th Editions.

The CMLE® certification is valid for five years. CMLE® holders demonstrate their continuing expertise by recertifying every five years.  Recertification includes educational videos and an online quiz.

CMLE Exam* CMLE Recertification*
Member Non-member Member Non-member
$475 $875 $99 $199

* Includes 1 exam and 2 retests, certificate, membership database update

CEDIR Certification

CEDIR Certification was offered until 2018 when it was replaced by the Certified MedicoLegal Evaluator (CMLE®) Certification.  CEDIR holders can maintain active certification by taking CMLE Recertification Exam (see table above).

AMA Guides Additional Credentials

IAIME also offers added credentials (4th, 5th, 6th Guides) to those receiving their CMLE® certification by way of an additional (brief) exam. This will be made available for each additional edition for which an individual desires further qualification. Additional credentials (adding the 4th, 5th, or 6th to current credentials) will require additional fee payments.

CMLE AMA Guides Additional Certification
4th Edition 5th Edition 6th Edition
$100 $100  $100

AMA Guides Impairment Ratings Certification 5th or 6th Edition

IAIME offers certification for licensed professionals (JD, AP, NP, RN, CCM, fellows/residents) with an interest in the independent assessment of health and function as these relate to impairment and disability.

AMA Guides Impairment Ratings Certification
Member Non-Member
$475 $875