January 16, 2020 – IAIME Names Winners of 2019 Annual Awards

East Dundee, IL; January 11, 2020 — The International Academy of Independent Medical Evaluators is pleased to announce the winners of its 2019 awards. The awards were presented at the IAIME 33rd Annual Scientific Session in Austin, Texas, January 8 – 11, 2020.

The following individuals are recipients of the 2019 IAIME professional awards.



Dr. Philip J. Mayer, FIAIME, Fellow of the International Academy of Independent Medical Evaluators, Northfield, MI. This award is presented for outstanding contributions to the Academy. Dr. Mayer has more than 25 years’ experience in the field of disability evaluation medicine. He has held many university appointments and is currently a Clinical Professor of Orthopeadic Surgery at Wayne State University. In addition to many teaching and administrator positions, Dr. Mayer has lectured extensively in the field of spine-related disability and causality assessment.


This award recognizes an outstanding educator, Eugene J. Carragee, MD, FAAOS, FIAIME, Fellow of the International Academy of Independent Medical Evaluators, Redwood City, California. Dr. Carragee is a professor of Orthopaedic Surgery at Stanford University Medical Center and an orthopaedic surgeon specializing in adult reconstructive spine surgery, disc surgery, cervical lumbar fusion, spinal tumor and infections. His contributions to orthopedic literature are extensive and he has lectured frequently at IAIME meetings.


This award is based on significant career contributions to the field of evidence-based medicine, Melissa D. Tonn, MD, MBA, MPH, FIAIME, Fellow of theInternational Academy of Independent Medical Evaluators, Dallas, Texas, is a Board Certified, Occupational Medicine Physician. She is President and Chief Medical Officer of OccMD, the company she started in 2000. OccMD is the largest medical management company focused on Options to Worker’s Compensation. Dr. Tonn holds academic appointments at the University of Texas, School of Public Health in Houston, the University of Texas Health Science Center at Tyler, and the Dell Medical School at The University of Texas at Austin.


Dr. Charles Xeller, FIAIME, Fellow of theInternational Academy of Independent Medical Evaluators, Seabrook, Texas. This award is based on Dr. Xeller’s ongoing contributions to the education of physicians, chiropractors, psychologists and nurses in the field of evidence-based medicine through his work with IAIME. Dr. Xeller is a Board Certified Orthopaedic Surgeon. He is currently a medical director for Veteran Evaluation Services and serves as a Designated Doctor in Texas as well as an IME / AME for the states of California and Nevada.   He is also an instructor in Texas for “pass the DD test”.

The International Academy of Independent Medical Evaluators (IAIME) is the premier organization for the education of physicians, psychologists and chiropractors in causation methodology, evidence-based medicine and techniques for performing independent medical evaluations. The Academy also produces materials related to the performance of impairment ratings based on the The AMA Guides to the Evaluation of Permanent Impairment, treatment of occupational conditions, and prevention of disability as well as proper methods to perform return to work evaluations.

IAIME has developed educational materials and courses for medical professionals, the insurance industry, the legal field, and governmental organizations. The Fellows of IAIME come from a wide variety of medical specialties. Our international faculty is experienced in teaching in all areas of the medical and legal aspects surrounding the care of the injured worker.

IAIME provides education to an average of 2,000 professionals per year.